Vehicle and Driver Requirements for Uber and Lyft in Pennsylvania
May 8, 2022 | Car Accidents
Uber and Lyft have a checkered history when it comes to passenger safety. These companies have expressed reluctance to release their internal files documenting sexual assault allegations against their drivers.
And they often stand back after a car accident, waiting for the insurers for the rideshare driver or the other driver to take the lead in paying injured passengers.
Here is an overview of the vehicle and driver requirements that Uber and Lyft impose to avoid these problems.
Uber and Lyft Driver Requirements in Pennsylvania
Driver requirements stem from Pennsylvania’s laws regulating transportation network companies like Uber and Lyft.
Under these laws, Uber, Lyft, and other ride-hailing companies must keep driver records, including:
- Proof of personal automobile insurance
- Criminal background check
- Driving history report
- Valid driver’s license
Drivers must also be at least 21 years old. Age, insurance status, and driver’s licenses are easily checked. But the criminal background check and driving history report require a more detailed analysis.
Criminal Background Check
The criminal background check must review criminal records and the federal sex offender registry.
Based on this review, Pennsylvania prohibits Uber and Lyft from hiring anyone who has a conviction for:
- DUI, felony theft, felony fraud, or any drug crime in the past seven years
- Burglary, robbery, or use of a motor vehicle in a felony in the past ten years
- Violent crime, Tier II or Tier III sex crime, or terrorism at any time
This list only includes the offenses prohibited by state law. Uber and Lyft can exercise their discretion to reject your application for less serious offenses as well. In other words, you do not have the right to drive for Uber or Lyft simply because Pennsylvania law says you can pass a criminal background check.
Driving History Report
The driving history report must come back relatively clean. Under Pennsylvania law, you cannot drive for Uber or Lyft if you have more than three moving violations in the past three years.
You also cannot have a major violation in the last three years.
In Pennsylvania, major violations include:
- Felony involving a motor vehicle
- DUI leading to injury or death
- Unlicensed driving leading to injury or death
- Vehicular homicide
- Street racing
- Careless driving
- Reckless driving
These violations trigger an automatic suspension of your driver’s license. After you reinstate your license, you will have to wait three years until you can drive for Uber or Lyft.
Uber and Lyft Vehicle Requirements in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania requires Uber and Lyft to keep records of each vehicle’s:
- License plate number
- Proof of vehicle inspections
Additionally, each vehicle must carry valid auto liability insurance, and the driver must have a copy of the ride-hailing company’s auto liability insurance information.
A vehicle will fail the mandatory inspection if it:
- Has a model year more than ten years old
- Has more than 350,000 miles
- Fails a safety inspection
- Fails an emissions test
Again, Uber and Lyft do not need to approve your vehicle just because Pennsylvania can. Uber and Lyft can impose additional requirements such as cosmetic appearance.
Additional Steps for Uber and Lyft Users to Take to Promote Passenger Safety in Pennsylvania
The requirements imposed by Pennsylvania on Uber and Lyft drivers and vehicles set the bar for passenger safety. The companies, drivers, and passengers can take additional steps to minimize the risk of safety issues.
For example, passengers can:
- Wear a seat belt
- Ride in the back seat
- Double-check the driver and car before getting in
And if something happens during your ride, call the police or use the emergency alert system built into the ride-hailing app.
Whether you are the victim of a crime or have been involved in a Lyft or Uber accident, you should take the steps necessary to protect your safety and legal rights by involving the police and an experienced attorney.
Contact the Car Accident Lawyers In Pennsylvania at Marzzacco Niven & Associates For Legal Help With Your Case Today
Harrisburg Law Office
945 East Park Drive, Suite 103 Harrisburg, PA 17111
Wyomissing Law Office
833 N. Park Road, Suite 103, Room A Wyomissing, PA 19610